Skip to main content

Improviser in Residence 2018: Kim Josephine Bode

M├╝nster native Josephine Bode lives and works in Amsterdam.

As the daughter of a flamenco guitarist, she was influenced by Spanish music in her childhood from a very early age. She studied classical recorder in Amsterdam, focussing on the link between early and new music. She has explored live electronics, jazz and free improvisation as well as techniques taken from South-Indian Carnatic music and their translation to the realm of contemporary music. After graduating with honours, she completed an additional degree program in modern music theatre in The Hague, where she investigated the link between music and movement in interdisciplinary art forms.


Josephine Bode has participated in numerous theatre and dance productions in the fields of contemporary through-composed and improvised music. As a musician, actress, dancer, director and performance artist, she works together today with a host of diverse artists from the European avant-garde and has received multiple awards both for her solo work and as a member of ensembles.

Aside from being a master of various recorders, Bode also plays the Bulgarian kaval and the E.W.I. (or Electronic Wind Instrument) developed and marketed by AKAI in the 1980s. In her live performances, she frequently makes use of electronics, theatrical elements or visual art. She is an enthusiastic adopter of new technologies, such as real-time 3D graphics or laser technology, and has collaborated closely in this connection with software developers and light designers.

Her current projects include the art-rock band Jerboah, the trio aXolot (a recorder ensemble for early and contemporary music) and the Rutger Muller Ensemble (combining avant-garde ambient techno with real-time visuals).

Skip to main content

Improviser in Residence 2018: Kim Josephine Bode

Die gebürtige Münsteranerin Josephine Bode lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam.

Als Tochter eines Flamenco-Gitarristen wurde sie bereits in früher Kindheit von spanischer Musik beeinflusst. Sie studierte klassische Blockflöte in Amsterdam und fokussierte sich dabei auf die Verbindung von Alter Musik und Neuer Musik. Sie beschäftigte sich mit Live-Elektronik, Jazz und Freier Improvisation sowie mit Techniken aus der südindischen karnatischen Musik und deren Übersetzung in Zeitgenössische Musik. Nach einem Abschluss mit Auszeichnung schloss sie ein Studium des Modernen Musiktheaters in Den Haag an und untersuchte die Verbindung von Musik und Bewegung in interdisziplinären Kunstformen.
Josephine Bode wirkte an zahlreichen Theater- und Tanzproduktionen im Bereich der zeitgenössischen auskomponierten und improvisierten Musik mit. Als Musikerin, Schauspielerin, Tänzerin, Regisseurin und Performancekünstlerin arbeitet sie heute mit Künstlern der europäischen Avantgarde zusammen und ist sowohl als Solistin sowie auch als Ensemble-Mitglied vielfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet worden.

Sie spielt verschiedene Blockflöten und zudem die bulgarische Kaval und das von AKAI in den 1980er Jahren entwickelte elektronisches Blasinstrument E.W.I. (Electronic Wind Instrument). Bei ihren Live-Auftritten setzt sie häufig Elektronik, Theater-Elemente oder Visual Art ein. Sie nutzt neue Technologien wie real time 3D Grafiken oder Laser-Technologie und arbeitet hierzu eng mit Software-Entwicklern und Licht-Designern zusammen.

Zu ihren aktuellen Projekten gehört die Art-Rock-Band Jerboah, das Trio aXolot (Blockflöten-Konsort, Alte und Zeitgenössische Musik) und das Rutger Muller Ensemble (Avantgarde Ambient Techno mit Real Time Visuals).